Kelvin Nancoo Games Powered by NESTLÉ MILO®

Triumph for Diamond Vale at 30th Annual Kelvin Nancoo Games Powered by NESTLÉ MILO®

To Press Releases listPort of Spain, Trinidad,Mar 14, 2017

Champions! Student participants in the 30th Annual Kelvin Nancoo Games, powered by NESTLÉ MILO® pose with Olympic athlete Michelle Lee Ahye (center)at Tuesday’s Games.

A legacy of excellence in sport and education is ingrained in the students of Diamond Vale Government Primary School. This is evidenced by their showcase of stellar prowess, sweeping both the Boys and Girls Championship at the Kelvin Nancoo West Games powered by NESTLÉ MILO® on Tuesday, at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

The perennial West ‘B’ Champions emerged triumphant, once again, thanks to superb performances by Hakim Salandy, Tyrell Springer, Tiffany Alleyne, Jordan Burton, Jeneice Burton, and Abigail Burton,

Like last year, Dunross Preparatory was victorious in the West A Boys category, with Dylan Woodruffe and Tye Clarke as their driving forces while Carenage Girls Government took the West A Girls category for the sixteenth time for Coach-Teacher Abeyola Akowe. Carenage dethroned Maraval RC, while Dunross Preparatory School and The International School of Port of Spain won third and fourth place, respectively.

Victor Ludorum: Notable performances were seen throughout the day.

Other notable performances were seen from Akeria Leacock and Teriem Toussaint of Maraval RC, and Fatimah Springer of Cocorite, Under 11, proved to be a youngster to watch, for the future.

Josiah Grant of Westport SDA Primary School, a school that was a newcomer to the annual Games, proved unstoppable in the Under 11 Boys category, while Perrylee Christie and Chelsie Mukerji of the International School of Port of Spain showcased similar fortitude in the Under 13 and Under 15 Girls events, respectively.

Diego Martin Government were proud, with good reason, of Naima Julius and Makada Edwards – more athletes of the future. And not to be left out, the Crystal Stream Government duo of Savian Adams and Markalia John brought great honor to the supporters of the school.

Carenage Girls Government were adjudged winners of the March Past for West A, and Four Roads Government, after three years of loss, returned to their winning ways for West B.  

The day’s track and field activity was witnessed by one of the largest crowds of supporters in the history of the re-named Games. Minister of Sport, the Hon. Darryl Smith, Yvonne Pinder, Burey George, Mennen Walker-Briggs, Merle John, Roy Agustus, Ivor Niles and Lennox Toussaint joined parents, teachers, family, and well-wishers, as they observed and supported students from some 22 schools, throughout the competition. Minister Smith lauded NESTLÉ and its MILO® brand, for its involvement and support of sport and education in Trinidad & Tobago. He pointed out that Kelvin Nancoo, in whose name the Games have been re-named, has served this school Zone, District and country selflessly over the past thirty years. He commended Nancoo for his great success, not only with the Games but with the thousands of student-athletes (and some eventual Olympians) who came under his guidance, over the years.

Honour Roll Results

March Past: West A
  • 1st: Carenage Girls Government - 268
  • 2nd: Maraval Girls’ RC - 264
  • 3rd: Dunross Preparatory - 258
March Past: West B
  • 1st: Four Roads Gov’t - 264
  • 2nd: Diamond Vale Gov’t - 260
  • 3rd: Crystal Stream Gov’t - 249
Victrix Ludorum: West A
  • Under 9: Akeria Leacock (Maraval Girls RC)
  • Under 11: Fatimah Springer (Cocorite Gov’t)
  • Under 13: Perrylee Christie (ISPS)
  • Under 15: Chelis Mukerji
Victor Ludorum: West A
  • Under 9: Teriem Toussaint (Maraval RC)
  • Under 11: Josiah Grant (Westport SDA)
  • Under 13: Dylan Woodruffe (Dunross Prep)
  • Under 15: Tye Clarke (Dunross Prep)
Victrix Ludorum: West B
  • Under 9: Naima Julius (Diego Martin Gov’t)
  • Under 11: Markalia John (Crystal Stream Gov’t)
  • Under 13: Makeda Edwards (Diego Martin Gov’t)
  • Under 15: Tiffany Alleyne (Diamond Vale Gov’t)
Victor Ludorum: West B
  • Under 9: Savion Adams (Crystal Stream Gov’t)
  • Under 11: Hakim Salandy (Diamond Vale Gov’t)
  • Under 13: Tyrell Springer (Diamond Vale Gov’t)
  • Under 15: Jordan Burton (Diamond Vale Gov’t)